SLSA E‐Newsletter

DOIhttp://doi.org/10.1111/jols.12085
Publication Date01 Mar 2018
Socio-Legal
1
SO CI O -L EG A L NE W SL ET T ER • NO8 1 • SP RI N G 2 01 7
N E W S L E T T E R
TH E N E W S L E T T E R O F T H E S O C I O - L E G A L S T U D I E S A S S O C I A T I O N SP R I N G 2017
No 81
SLSA BOOK AND ARTICLE
PRIZE SHORTLISTS
In another extremely strong field of nominations, the SLSA
Exec is delighted to announce the shortlists for this year’s
book and article prizes.
Hart Socio-Legal Book Prize
Alessandrini, Donatella (Kent) (2016) Value Making in International
Law and Regulation: Alternative possibilities, Routledge
Barmes, Lizzie (Queen Mary) (2016) Bullying and Behavioural
Conflict at Work: The duality of individual rights, OUP
Socio-Legal Theory and History Prize
Grabham, Emily (Kent) (2016) Brewing Legal Times: Things, form,
and the enactment of law, Toronto University Press
Harrington, John (Cardiff) (2017) Towards a Rhetoric of Medical Law,
Routledge
Hart Prize for Early Career Academics
Prabhat, Devyani (Bristol) (2016) Unleashing the Force of Law:
Legal mobilization, national securit y and basic freed oms,
Palgrave
Westwood, Sue (Keele) (2016) Aging, G ender and Sexuality:
Equality in later life, Routledge
Socio-Legal Article Prize
Carr, Helen (Kent) (2 015) ’Legal technolo gy in an age of
austerity: documentation, “functional” incontinence and the
problem of dignity’ in Dave Cowan and Dan Wincott (eds),
Exploring the Legal in Socio-Legal Studies, Palgrave
Crawford, Adam (Leeds) (2015) ‘Temporality in restorative
justice: on time , timing and tim e-consciousnes s’ 19(4 )
Theoretical Criminology 470–90
Hunter, Caroline (York) (2015) ‘Solar panels, homeowners and
leases: the lease as a socio-legal object’ in Dave Cowan and
Dan Wincott (eds), Exploring the Legal in Socio-legal Studies,
Palgrave
The winner s will be a nnounced at the an nual dinn er in
Newcastle on 6 April 2017.
Follow the SLSA . . .
w
www.slsa.ac.uk
Twitter
w
https://twitter.com/SLSA_UK
Facebook
w
www.facebook.com/groups/55986957593
LinkedIn
w
www.linkedin.com/groups/SocioLegal-Studies-
Association-4797898
SLSA 2017: NEWCASTLE
The SLSA’s Annual Conference this year will be held at
Newcastle University from 5–7 April 2017.
Yet again , the Ann ual Con ference is fast app roaching!
Registration is open and the standard rate is still available but
only until 13 March 2017. After that the late rate will apply. The
closing date for all registrations is 6pm on 31 March 2017. Be
sure not to miss these important deadlines. Visit the website as
soon as you can at wwww.slsa2017.com.
This year we received nearly 500 abstracts in response to the
call for papers and the theme and stream convenors have started
to put the panels together. As always, there are a great range of
papers and delegates will have difficulty choosing between the
parallel panel sessions. The conference hub and all the seminar
rooms for each session are centrally located on campus, near the
University Quadrangle’s World War memorial garden.
We have also received 13 excellent posters which will be
entered into the poster competition and displayed throughout
all three days of the conference. This year delegates will be able
to vote for their favourite to win.
On the first evening, delegates can enjoy a wine reception at
the Great North Museum, Hancock. We are lucky enough to be
hosting it in the ‘Living planet’ exhibition space, which means
guests can enjoy some natural history alongside their socio-legal
studies. The conference dinner, on the second evening, will be
served in the beautiful Great Hall of the Discovery Museum.
The museum is full of fascinating exhibitions on industry,
science and technology. At the dinner SLSA chair, Rosemary
Hunter will announce the winners of the SLSA book and article
prizes and Professor Linda Mulcahy, winner of this year’s Prize
for Contributions to the Socio-Legal Community, will also
receive her award.
As previously publicised, the theme of this year’s conference
is ‘Visions of law’. On the one hand, this will mean exploring the
visual representations and the relationship between law and the
visual. On the other, it also encompasses the myriad ways of
‘seeing’ law which are made possible by socio-legal studies.
We are very excited to be welcoming our plenary panel. The
panel members are Dr Thomas Giddens (St Mary’s University),
Professor Linda Mulcahy (LSE), Professor Ama nda Perry-
Kessaris (University of Kent) and Leonora Saunders (freelance
photographer). They will be speaking to the central conference
theme. Their biographies and abstracts for the keynote panel on
Wednesday 5 April 2017 can be found on the conference website
wwww.slsa2017.com/keynote-speakers. In keeping with the
theme, delegates will have the opportunity to view the Athena
Project p ortraits of leading w omen in l aw and poli cy,
temporarily exhibited in the on-campus Long Gallery, in
addition to the Inspirational Women of the Law portraits which
are a permanent feature of Newcastle Law School. See
wwww.iwlaw.uk.
If you have any questions, please see the conference website
wwww.slsa2017.com or email eslsa@newcastle.ac.uk.
The conference steering committee look forward to seeing you
in Newcastle in April!
Nikki Godden-Rasul and Kevin Crosby
Future SLSA Annual Conferences
SLSA members will be gathering at the University of Bristol
from 27—29 March 2018 and at Leeds University from
3—5 April 2019. Save the dates.
sl s a not ic eb oa rd
SO CI O -L EG A L NE W SL ET T ER • NO8 1 • SP RI N G 2 01 7
2
© Socio-Legal Studies Association 2017 ISSN: 0957-7817
SLSA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
2016—2017
CHAIR
Rosemary Hunter
QMUL
e
rosemary.hunter@qmul.ac.uk
VICE-CHAIR AND SEMINAR
COMMITTEE
Rosie Harding
University of Birmingham
e
r.j.harding@bham.ac.uk
SECRETARY
Kevin Brown
Queen’s University Belfast
e
k.brown@qub.ac.uk
TREASURER
Mark O’Brien
Oxford Brookes University
e
mark.obrien@brookes.ac.uk
MEMBERSHIP SECRETARY
Maebh Harding
Warwick University
e
maebh.harding@warwick.ac.uk
RECRUITMENT SECRETARY
Lydia Hayes (JLS representative)
Cardiff University
e
hayesl@cf.ac.uk
PUBLISHER LIAISON
Francis Sheridan
Westminster University
e
f.sheridan@westminster.ac.uk
Newsletter sponsorship
The Socio-Legal Newsletter is sponsored
by a consortium of law schools interested
in promoting socio-legal studies in the UK.
If your institution would like to become
involved in this initiative, please contact
SLSA chair Rosemary Hunter
e
rosemary.hunter@qmul.ac.uk.
Newsletter academic sponsors 2016—2019
are: Birkbeck; Cardiff Law School; Centre
for Socio-Legal Studies, Oxford; Kent
University; Leeds Beckett University; the
LSE; Newcastle University; Northumbria
University Newcastle; QMUL; Queen’s
University Belfast; University College
London; University of Exeter; University of
Leeds; University of Leicester; University of
Liverpool; University of Nottingham;
University of Sheffield; University of
Strathclyde; University of Sussex; University
of Westminster; University of York; and
Warwick Law School.
The newsletter is also sponsored by the
Journal of Law and Society.
. . . n e w s l e t t e r s p o n s o r s . . . n e w s l e t t e r s p o n s o r s . . .
Carla Crifo
Leicester University
e
cc116@leicester.ac.uk
Jill Dickinson
Sheffield Hallam University
e
jill.dickinson@shu.ac.uk
Jonathan Garton
Warwick University
e
j.garton@warwick.ac.uk
Neil Graffin
Open University
e
neil.graffin@open.ac.uk
Petra Mahy
SOAS, University of London
e
petra.mahy@soas.ac.uk
Michael Thomson
University of Leeds
e
m.a.thomson@leeds.ac.uk
Tom Webb
Lancaster University
e
t.webb@lancaster.ac.uk
BRISTOL 2018
Devyani Prabhat
Bristol University
e
devyani.prabhat@bristol.ac.uk
Janine Sargoni
Bristol University
e
janine.sargoni@bristol.ac.uk
SLSA EXECUTIVE MEMBERS
Diamond Ashiagbor
IALS, University of London
e
diamond.ashiagbor@sas.ac.uk
Lois Bibbings
Bristol University
e
lois.s.bibbings@bristol.ac.uk
Sarah Blandy
Sheffield University
e
s.blandy@sheffield.ac.uk
Nwudego Chinwuba
Lagos University, Nigeria
e
uchinwuba@unilag.edu.ng
Emilie Cloatre
Kent University
e
e.cloatre@kent.ac.uk
Dave Cowan
Bristol University
e
d.s.cowan@bristol.ac.uk
Naomi Creutzfeldt
University of Westminster
e
n.creutzfeldt@westminster.ac.uk
INTERNATIONAL
LIAISON/SCOTTISH REP
Sharon Cowan
Edinburgh University
e
s.cowan@ed.ac.uk
EDITOR: NEWSLETTER, WEB,
eBULLETIN
Marie Selwood
e
marieselwood@btinternet.com
WEBMASTER
Jed Meers
University of York
e
jed.meers@york.ac.uk
SOCIAL MEDIA
Jen Hendry
University of Leeds
e
j.hendry@leeds.ac.uk
GRANTS COMMITTEE CHAIR
Jess Guth
Leeds Beckett University
e
j.guth@leedsbeckett.ac.uk
POSTGRADUATE REPRESENTATIVE
Jessica Mant
Leeds University
e
j.l.mant@leeds.ac.uk
NEWCASTLE 2017
Kevin Crosby
e
kevin.crosby@newcastle.ac.uk
Nikki Godden-Rasul
e
nikki.godden-
rasul@newcastle.ac.uk

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT