Corn Returns Regulations 1997

JurisdictionUK Non-devolved
CitationSI 1997/1873

1997 No. 1873


The Corn Returns Regulations 1997

Made 30th July 1997

Coming into force 1st August 1997

The Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and the Secretary of State for Wales, acting jointly, in relation to England and Wales, and the Secretary of State for Scotland in relation to Scotland, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 4, 5 and 14 of the Corn Returns Act 18821and now vested in them2, and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, hereby make the following Regulations:

S-1 Title, commencement and extent

Title, commencement and extent

1.—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Corn Returns Regulations 1997 and shall come into force on 1st August 1997.

(2) These Regulations shall apply to Great Britain.

S-2 Interpretation


2. In these Regulations, unless the context otherwise requires —

“the Act” means the Corn Returns Act 1882;

“the Authority” means the Home-Grown Cereals Authority, established by the Cereals Marketing Act 19653;

“return” means a return made in pursuance of section 5 of the Act of purchases of British corn.

S-3 Prescribed areas for making returns

Prescribed areas for making returns

3. The areas prescribed in accordance with section 4 of the Act (from which areas weekly returns are to be made) shall be those areas listed in Schedule 1 to these Regulations.

S-4 Making of returns

Making of returns

4.—(1) Any person required by section 5 of the Act (weekly returns of purchases of British corn) to make a return shall, save where he and the Authority have agreed that he shall do so in some other manner, either—


(a) do so in writing, and sign it, and then post it by first class post, or


(b) complete it in such a way that it is capable of being easily read after transmission by facsimile machine, and then send it by means of such a machine,

to the Authority on each Friday (or, if that Friday is a public holiday, the next working day) occurring next after a period for which he is required to make a return.

(2) A return shall contain the information specified in Schedule 2 to these Regulations, and shall relate to the period of seven days (starting on a Friday) most recently preceding the day on which it is required to be posted or sent to the Authority.

(3) A separate return shall be made for each of the prescribed areas from which the person required to make the return purchased British corn by wholesale from the grower, or if no such purchase was made during the seven-day period in question a return shall be made stating that fact.

S-5 Revocations


5. The Corn Returns Regulations 19764, the Corn Returns (Scotland) Regulations 19765, the Corn Returns (Scotland) (Variation) Regulations 19906, and the Corn Returns (Variation) Regulations 19907are hereby revoked.


Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

28th July 1997

Win Griffiths

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Welsh Office

30th July 1997


Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Scottish Office

28th July 1997


Regulations 3



South East England

(comprising Greater London; the counties of Berkshire, Brighton and Hove, East Sussex, Hampshire, the Isle of Wight, Kent, Portsmouth, Southampton, Surrey, and West Sussex).


South West England & South Wales

(comprising, in England, the counties of the City of Bristol, Bournemouth, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, North East Somerset, North West Somerset, Poole, Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Thamesdown, and Wiltshire; and, in Wales, the counties of Ceredigion, Carmarthenshire, Monmouthshire, Pembrokeshire, Powys, and Swansea; the county boroughs of Blaenau Gwent, Bridgend, Caerphilly, Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Neath Port Talbot, Newport, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Torfaen, and The Vale of Glamorgan).


Midlands of England

(comprising the counties of Derby, Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Hereford and Worcester, Leicester, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Rutland, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Stoke-on-Trent, and Warwickshire; the metropolitan county of West Midlands).


East England

(comprising the counties of Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Lincolnshire, Luton, Milton Keynes, Norfolk, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, and Suffolk).


North East England

(comprising the counties of Darlington, Durham, the East Riding of Yorkshire, Hartlepool, the City of Kingston upon Hull, Middlesborough, Northumberland, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees, North Yorkshire, and the City of York; the metropolitan counties of South Yorkshire, Tyne and Wear, and West Yorkshire).


North West England & North Wales

(comprising, in England, the counties of Cheshire, Cumbria, and Lancashire; the metropolitan counties of Greater Manchester, and Merseyside; and, in Wales, the counties of Isle of Anglesey, Gwynedd, Denbighshire, and Flintshire; the county boroughs of Conwy, and Wrexham).


South Scotland

(comprising the areas administered by the Councils of Argyll and Bute, City of Edinburgh, City...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT